Face Masks I Love

4cbKM5jMi

Who doesn’t love a good face mask? I wonder what it would be like to combine my two ultimate forms of relaxation: the beach and face masks… Too much? Ok, back to face masks!

I’m going to split these face masks into different categories so if there’s a particular type of face mask you like more than others, you can just jump right to your favorite.

Sheet Masks

Sheet masks are a great option, especially for the on-the-go individual or someone who doesn’t have the time to sit for too long yet still wants some good skin care and relaxation. Most of my favorite sheet masks can actually be found at the drugstore and Walmart. Yay for affordability!

Panda Fibre Face Mask

This face mask is so cute! It’s made with green tea and apple, which have detoxifying and toning properties. It’s also got a cute little panda face printed on the paper! It smells really nice and leaves your face feeling refreshed and a little tighter. The link is to the Francesca’s website because what I found on Amazon was almost sold out.

Garnier SkinActive Moisture Bomb

They do not lie when they call it a moisture bomb! It is such a hydrating and plumping mask! Hydration is super important, especially in the summer, no matter what skin type you have. The one I have linked has pomegranate extract and hyaluronic acid. Hyaluronic acid is a tried and true wrinkle-reducer, while pomegranate extract is the main moisturizer and a great antioxidant. Some claim it’s an even better antioxidant than green tea! The Moisture Bomb line has two other types of masks: soothing (with chamomile and hyaluronic acid) and mattifying (with green tea and hyaluronic acid). The mattifying one is on my list of masks to try next, since I have oily/combination skin.

Yes to Grapefruit Correct and Repair Pore Perfection Mask

Now I’m just going to put this tidbit out there first so you’ll know for sure if this is a deal-breaker or not: this mask tingles. When I say “tingles“, I mean it gets pretty dang tingly. I have pretty sensitive skin and although it left my face a little red (which is pretty common for a lot of brightening masks), it didn’t burn. Just heed my word of caution and don’t hurt me if you don’t like it. I advise that if you don’t like how it feels, just take it off! The grapefruit has loads of vitamin C to provide that brightening (and tingling) and is also great for refining and tightening pores. The link provided is for a 5-pack of the mask, but I found singles at Walmart. I couldn’t find it on Walmart’s website, but I know it’s there!

Clay Masks

Clay masks are an oily girl’s bread and butter! I can tell an immediate change in my skin when I don’t use a clay mask at least once every two weeks, but once a week is ideal. A tip for using clay masks if you’re not oily is to not let it totally dry on your face. It’ll dry your skin out too much if you do! Also, use a wash rag or a face-cleansing brush, like a Clarisonic, if you have one!

Freeman Feeling Beautiful Avocado and Oatmeal Facial Clay Mask

Freeman masks in general are just fantastic, affordable masks, but the Avocado and Oatmeal Clay Mask is my absolute favorite from them. It’s just so nice. The avocado is moisturizing and nourishing and the oatmeal is soothing and calming. I can’t really say much else or I’ll get repetitive about how great it is for less than $4! Try out all of the Freeman masks if you have the time!

ELIZAVECCA Carbonated Bubble Clay Mask

As far as I know, this is the “original” bubble clay mask. This particular brand got a lot of attention on social media when they first launched this product. If you’ve never tried any bubble clay mask, you have to. Right now. It’s the coolest thing ever to watch all the bubbles just start appearing all over your face and it has a really unique sensation. The only thing I can liken it to for those that haven’t tried it is that it feels like soda is fizzing up all over your face. You feel really clean and refreshed after you wash it off, too.

Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay

This is definitely one of the most effective clay mask I’ve ever used. It detoxifies, firms, tightens, and brightens. There’s nothing really fancy about it, but that’s part of the beauty of it. Multiple celebrities swear by it and for good reason. It’s super quick with delivering results and it’s simple to use. You add equal parts clay and water/apple cider vinegar (the vinegar is better for brightening) to a nonmetal bowl and mix it with a nonmetal utensil (metal and clay aren’t friends). Then you spread it all over your face with your fingers or with a foundation brush, which is my preferred method of application. Let it dry for 5-10 minutes if you have dry/sensitive skin and 15-20 minutes if you don’t. There’s a reason why some ancient ingredients are still used today: they just work, like this mask.

Peel-Off Masks

Peel-off masks give you this weird sense of satisfaction as you pull the mask off of your face… At least that’s what they do for me.

Montagne Jeunesse Green Tea Peel Off Mask

To the beauty snobs out there: don’t look at me like that… I know it’s not the most expensive mask but it’s a good “placebo” mask for when I don’t want to use my nicer ones. Also, I have a fondness for Montagne Jeunesse because their crazy blue face mask was one of the first ever face masks I remember using. This mask gets the job done decently. I’ll say this is my favorite mask for when I’m trying to save my other masks but still want a nice, clean, dead-skin-free face. And it’s $2.

Pilaten Blackhead Remover Peel Off Mask

Yes, this is one of the viral peel-off masks on social media. Yes, I caved to peer pressure. No, I did not nearly peel my face off like the people online. I didn’t let it dry on my face for longer than 15 minutes. That’s how to cause a lot of damage to your skin. When you use it properly, it does a pretty good job at getting blackheads out. A tip I’ll give is to press a hot wash rag onto your face until it gets cool. Make sure it’s as hot as you can tolerate without it hurting. If you do this before you apply the mask, it’ll get a lot more blackheads out than it would if you just stuck it on your face without any preparation. If you don’t want to use a hot wash rag, then you can either steam your face over a bowl of boiling water with towel over your head for 10-15 minutes or you can do the mask right after you get out of a nice, steamy shower.

Elizabeth Arden Prevage City Smart Detox Peel-Off Mask

Ok, this is one of only two masks on this whole post that you can’t buy from Walmart or the drugstore. I was given this mask about a month before it was released to the public to try it for myself so I can form an honest opinion on the mask before I sell it to people. This is one of the coolest masks I’ve ever tried. It’s a clear peel-off mask and as it detoxifies your skin, you can see what’s coming out of your skin as it’s being drawn out! How grossly awesome is that?! I’ll admit, it’s… an investment, but it’s so worth it! The whole Prevage line has won 187 beauty awards since it’s conception and I’m proud to sell and represent it. It’s available for purchase online, but it hasn’t hit my counter yet. I’m not sure if it’s available at bigger counters yet or not, but I’ll find the info for anyone who wants it.

Cream Masks

Cream masks are a nice change of pace when you want deep moisture and some are even meant to be slept in, which is great for those on-the-go beauties (or the lazy ones like me).

Korres Wild Rose and Vitamin C Advanced Brightening Sleeping Facial

This is the other non-drugstore mask I was referring to. I first tried it was a friend of mine who also dealt with hyperpigmentation started to have noticeably brighter skin. She told me about this cream sleeping facial and said she had just finished half of the jar. I had to try it because I was desperate for something to take away the spots on my face. It worked! It took a whole jar for me, but it’s really helped with my acne scars. Those of you who know me personally probably remember how bad my skin was compared to what it looks like now (I plan on dedicating a whole post to my cystic acne journey). I’ll quote my friend on this one… “It’s worth every penny, and it was a lot of pennies.”

iN.gredients Chocolate Raspberry Cream Mask

I have no idea why I couldn’t for the life of me find this brand of masks on the CVS or Walgreens websites, but I’ve seen this brand in both stores. The chocolate raspberry smells so good, it makes me want to eat it (but please don’t eat it). It’s very soothing and hydrating. Their Black Pepper cream mask is also really nice. It’s detoxifying and toning and you can feel it working on your skin but it’s definitely not overbearing.

I hope you’re able to find these masks and give them a try. They’ve all done wonders for my complexion and I guarantee that adding a mask to your skin care routine once or twice a week, you’ll really notice a difference in your skin. Thank you so much for reading!

Much love, my glam-ily!

Leave a Reply

