Free People Look Book: Part 1

Hello, hello!

My name’s Brittany Howe and this is my blog – Howe Glam! (Yes, I made a pun with my last name. I mean, Howe can you not with a name like mine?… Sorry.)

Anyway, I’m super excited to bring you guys Part 1 of a look book for Free People as my first blog post!

Note: This is not sponsored by Free People, Elizabeth Arden or Dillard’s. I work at Dillard’s and the Free People brand just became available with us. So I was inspired to make a casual, festival-inspired look using Free People clothing as well as Elizabeth Arden cosmetics, which is my counter.

IMG_4398

Top: Move Along Bodysuit

This bodysuit was a bit of a stretch out of my comfort zone for me. I’m usually fairly modest with my clothing and the top… isn’t exactly that. I eventually wasn’t so self-conscious and I noticed how freaking comfortable this thing is. It’s so soft and lightweight: perfect for a festival or a beach or pool party.

Skirt: Wild Rose Embroidered Fray Hem Mini Denim Skirt

This skirt is SO CUTE! I love the embroidered roses and the gunmetal studs on the sides. It definitely gives that “tough but feminine” vibe.

I already owned the headband. I would link it but I bought it about 3 years ago and don’t remember where I bought it from. I’ll link some similar headbands below:

Black and Gold Beaded Headband

Pink Pewter Gold and Black Stretch Headband

IMG_4331

Foundation: Elizabeth Arden Flawless Finish Perfectly Satin 24HR Foundation

This foundation is so great for me! I have oily/combination skin and I have hyperpigmentation from having cystic acne in high school. My sister-in-law has more normal, less oily, skin with dark spots from sun exposure and she loves it too. The foundation is medium/full coverage and doesn’t cake up as you layer it. It’s just an overall good foundation.

Concealer: Tarte Shape Tape Concealer

In Shape Tape We Trust. The End. I’ve tried literally DOZENS of concealers in my makeup journey and this is the best for me hands down. It sets itself, people!

Setting Powder: Coty Airspun Translucent Extra Coverage Setting Powder

It’s the best setting/baking powder you can buy at the drugstore or Walmart (where it’s linked). Hands down. It smells like grandma, but it gets the job done and it’s affordable ($6).

Bronzer: Physician’s Formula Butter Bronzer

If you want a good bronzer for under $20 that smells like a beautiful tropical paradise and is super easy to blend, look no further.

Blush: Milani Baked Blush in Rose D’Oro

This is one of my favorite blushes. It’s $8, has the perfect amount of pigment, and this particular shade is vegan. Win, win, win.

Eyes: Elizabeth Arden Eyeshadow Trio in You Had Me at Merlot

These eyeshadows are SO. SO. PIGMENTED. And they blend well! Hallelujah! Also, between you and me, they’re the same as the Chanel eyeshadows. They have the same formula and both are made with what’s called the Slurry Technique. Cosmetic companies use this technique to keep the pigmentation consistent throughout the whole batch and the whole pan, which is what everyone wants. The Chanel eyeshadows are $29.50 for ONE eyeshadow. The Arden Trio is $21.50 and you get THREE colors. Don’t even get me started on the metallic and shimmers. You just need to try them for yourselves to really experience the magic. Plus the trio I used has the most amazing rose gold eyeshadow I’ve ever seen.

Stila Magneficent Metals Glitter and Glow Liquid Eyeshadow in Smoky Storm

I’m sure you’ve all heard about these little miracles, but in case you haven’t, they’re the easiest way to apply glitter to your eyes (or face) currently on the market. They are packed full of glitter, but don’t feel gritty due to the fine milling of the glitters. They set and dry fairly quickly and really pack a punch. But be warned: they DO NOT do well with eyeshadow primers, especially silicone-based ones. It’s just not pretty. I personally prime my eyes by using concealer and setting it with the same powder I use for setting my face.

Elizabeth Arden Lasting Impression Mascara in Lasting Black

I legitimately wear this mascara every day. I have stubborn, stick-straight lashes and this mascara holds the work I put in curling the little boogers like no other mascara does. It’s been my favorite for 2 months now, which is when I got this through gratis from Elizabeth Arden.

Ardell Faux Mink Lashes in 812

Ardell is my favorite affordable false lash brand. They’re good quality for the price, you can reuse them multiple times with proper care, and the lash band on most lash styles is invisible or very barely noticeable.

So that’s all I’ve got for you guys for this post. I’ll be posting again very soon. I’m going to post at least once a week, but hopefully twice or three times a week. I really hope you learned something and enjoyed the look. I know it’s not the greatest thing since sliced bread, but I promise the looks will get better and better each time. If you guys have any requests or suggestions, I’d love to hear them!

Much love, my glam-ily!

Leave a Reply

